50 years ago…..

December 1, 2006 at 10:26 pm (DIY, House renovation) (, )

I knew the wall-to-wall carpet in our bedroom had to go. It was filthy, scruffy, stained, and smelly. Today I started lifting removing it. You know carpet is old when

  • it has a dusty odor
  • it’s black around the edges
  • the underlay has mostly turned to powder
  • you find newspaper clippings dated Nov 26 1956 underneath it. Nearly 50 years ago to the day!! I know that carpet was disgusting and past it’s best, but could it really be 50 years old? Or were the clippings planted there? No other debris other than dirt has been found!

I also had the unpleasant task of cutting the carpet into 3 sections because it’s so big. So glad I had a dust mask on!

I got a big bored of scraping up the underlay around the edges and attached some of the walls (a mix of woodchip and floral wallpaper that had been painted over). Amazingly, both came off quite easily, and I estimate I stripped back 50% of the walls today. The plaster is good apart from in the corners and around the windows.

Leave a Reply

